≡ Menu

How To Delete Someone From Messenger On iPhone

With the increase in popularity of Facebook and Messenger, we have a lot of unwanted people on our contacts list or profile friends list who don’t know how to use these services.

These people create a lot of nuisance on these platforms, so it’s better to get rid of them from your list altogether.


But how do you remove someone from Messenger on iPhone? Is there any quick fix to this problem?

Let’s find out in this post below.

Tips To Delete Someone From Messenger On iPhone

You can weed out such contacts from your Messenger profile using the following methods.

1. Facebook Account

Since almost all Messenger users have Facebook accounts, it becomes easy to delete an individual from your contacts list.

If you have access to your Facebook account, you can use the following steps to perform this task.

Steps to follow

  1. Open the Facebook website or Facebook app on your iPhone.
  2. Go to the profile of your friend who you wish to remove from Messenger.
  3. Unfriend him/her.

That’s it!


Once you unfriend someone from Facebook, their Messenger id also gets removed from your Messenger account list.

Try this trick on your own, and I’m sure you won’t see the removed profile in your chat list.

It’s also the best method to get this thing done, as you can single out people using your account’s friends list. There is no other method available for you to do this task precisely.

All other methods wipe out synced contacts from the list.

2. Messenger App

Social media companies like Facebook increase their active userbase using the ‘Sync Contacts’ features on their apps or services. This simple feature has also helped them grow their business exponentially over the period.

And technically, there is nothing wrong with this strategy either.

The only problem that Messenger users face is the app’s inability to let you choose the people you wish to sync and interact.

When you activate the Sync Contacts option, it assumes full permissions to acquire contacts from your contacts list.

So, if you even think of deleting someone from these synced contacts in your Messenger app, you will have to delete the entire list. You can’t point out one person and delete their profile id from the app.

Now, I don’t know whether Facebook/Messenger team will release such feature for their app, but you have to use this feature for now.

Follow these steps to delete users from the synced list

  1. Open the Messenger app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap your profile icon on the top left corner of the screen.
  3. Go to People and toggle the Sync Contacts option.
  4. Go back to the messenger’s contact list and close the app.

Disable Sync Contacts on Messenger

Once you disable this option on your Messenger, it will start removing all those synced contacts from the list.

Alternate Method:

There is one more method through which you can delete these contacts from Messenger.

Steps to follow

  1. Visit this link – https://www.facebook.com/mobile/messenger/contacts
  2. Click on the Delete All Contacts option.

Note – You will need to activate Sync Contacts option to be able to use this alternate method. If you have already disabled Sync Contacts using above method, you won’t see any contacts on this page.

3. Block messages from unwanted people

This option is quite useful if you do not wish to interact with some users.

And the best thing is you don’t have to go anywhere else to use this feature. It’s already available in Messenger app.

Here’s how you can block messages on Messenger

  1. Open the Messenger app on iPhone.
  2. Tap the profile link on the top left corner of the screen.
  3. Tap People and go to the Blocked option.
  4. Tap the Add Someone option to add the person to the blocked list.
  5. Go back to your Messenger’s contacts list and close the app.

Note – When you add someone to this list, you won’t be able to call (Facebook call) or message them again.

Well, there you go! These are some of the tricks that you can use to delete someone from Messenger on iPhone.

But wait!

Don’t leave this page yet.

Check out the FAQs as well. I’m sure you will find some more useful information on this topic.

FAQs

Why doesn’t Facebook allow its users to remove individuals from the Messenger list?

It seems like a business decision than technical inabilities.

If they want to offer this feature to its users, they would have released it a long time back.

Can we bring back deleted contacts on Messenger?

Oh yes!

You can reintroduce deleted contacts to your Messenger list. You’ll have to enable the Sync Contacts option again for the app to fetch all available contacts from your iPhone.

And there’s no limitation to it. You can do it as many times as you want.

Does Facebook send any notification to deleted or blocked individuals?

No, they won’t receive such notification from Facebook.

However, if you delete them from Facebook’s account or block them on Messenger, they will get to know about it sooner than later.

If I remove someone from a group chat on messenger, will they know?

Yes, they will come to know about it.

If they are removed from your group, Facebook also removes the group icon from the list of contacts. And that’s a good indication to find out about the removal from the Messenger group.

Is there any limitation to the no. of people you can delete from Messenger?

No, there is no limitation to this task. You can delete/block as many people as you want.

Facebook also allows its users to deactivate Messenger completely.

Where is the menu on Messenger app?

It’s kind of a design flaw in the Messenger app.

You can’t find out the menu and settings options in this app if you are a new user of this platform.

Well, let’s reveal the secret now!

To open the menu, you will have to tap the profile icon available on the top left of your screen. That’s where you can find all the settings options too.

Have any more questions regarding this topic? Leave a comment below.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment